Home Page
This half term our Christian Value is Love.


We are a happy, family school with strong Christian values. We all work together to promote a love of learning where children succeed and reach their full potential. We hope you enjoy your visit.Hanley Swan Primary School is part of the Hanley and Upton Educational Trust

Governance Structure

School Governors


Hanley Swan, St Gabriel’s with St Mary’s, C of E Primary School became an Academy on 1st April 2017 as part of a Multi Academy Trust along with Kempsey Primary School and Hanley Castle High School forming the name of the Hanley and Upton Educational Trust (HUET).


As a Multi Academy Trust, the Articles of Association allow for the HUET to consist of up to 5 members and 9 trustees.


In addition each school has a Local Governing Body which consists of up to three Parent Governors, three Staff Governors (including the Headteacher), and up to 5 Appointed Governors. For church schools there will also be a Diocesan appointed Governor.


Please find below a list of HUET Members and Trustees and Local Governors for Hanley Swan School


HUET Members

Jeff Robinson, Chair


Revd. Barry Unwin - Diocesan Representative


Steve Morris - Link with Local Business


Marian Walters MBE - Independent


Dr David Webster - Independent



HUET Trustees

Jeff Robinson, Chair


Lindsey Cooke, Chief Executive Officer & Accounting Officer


Gail Black - Diocesan Representative


Naomi Skellum - Financial


Sue Fitzjohn - Diocesan Representative


Sir Nicholas Lechmere - Independent


Steven Price - School Improvement / Performance Data


Kate Taylor - School Improvement / Safeguarding



Hanley Swan LGB




Parent Governors

Hannah Thorley (Chair) - Resources, Standards & Teaching


Clare Walters (Vice Chair) - Resources


Gail Black - Standards & Teaching


Allison Smith - Resources



Staff Governors

Anita Wilkins - Standards & Teaching




Adrian Pratley - Resources, Standards & Teaching



Appointed Governors

Sally Hargreaves - Resources


Sue Roberts - Resources


Hilary Aldous - Standards & Teaching



Foundation Governors

Barry Unwin - Resources


Linda Bedford - Standards & Teaching

















Company Secretary

Michelle Snape




The HUET is a charitable company responsible for the successful operation of all three academies. Its role is strategic and it delegates day to day management of the School to the Headteacher and the Local Governing Body.